Hula - the Heartbeat of the Hawaiian People

Hula, the traditional dance of the islands, is part of the Hawaiian "Healing Arts". This means that Hula is much more than a dance: It is an art with healing effects.

The basis of hula is individuality within a collective. While the music unites the movements of the dancers like drops in a wave, each person expresses his or her own innermost feelings.

In the 19th century, hula was forbidden for a long time and could only be practiced in hiding, not least because of its content: The dances depict the relationships of people, nobles, Hawaiian gods and goddesses among themselves, as well as themes like nature and love. It was not until after 1970 that the dances experienced a renaissance - one that has continued to this day.

AlohaSpirit has formed its own group of about 15 hula dancers, "Na Wai 'Ohi'a", which performs at national and international events. "Na Wai 'Ohi'a" is under the direction of Kumu Keala Ching and Kumu Noëlle Delaquis. Videos of our performances can be found here. Every year in June, the group presents what they have learned during the year in a public performance (see picture gallery).

AlohaSpirit offers you the opportunity to dance hula, play the ukulele and perform on a regular basis.

Weekly hula training at Hale AlohaSpirit.

Every Tuesday:

from 5 to 6 p.m. - ukulele and singing
from 18 to 19 o'clock - Hula foundation class
from 19 to 21 o'clock - Hula main class and chanting.

Classes are taught in the tradition of "Na Wai Iwi Ola" (The Ancient Waters of Life) as taught by Kumu Keala Ching.

Details

Hula Day takes place 1-time per month.

One Saturday or Sunday each month we conduct a Hula Day. We take six hours for a specific dance and chant. The lessons are taught in the tradition of "Nā Wai Iwi Ola" (The Ancient Waters of Life) as taught by Kumu Keala Ching.

Details

Hula School Na Wai 'Ohi'a - annual performance

Details

Latest Workshops

Workshop Hula
January 22, 2022
10 am to 4 pm

Hula Auana Day - Modern Dance

Costs:

CHF 100.-

Place:

Hale AlohaSpirit

Once a month is Hula Day.

We take six hours to devote ourselves entirely to a dance and song (Chant/Oli). The lessons are in the tradition of "Nā Wai Iwi Ola" (The Ancient Waters of Life) as taught by Kumu Keala Ching. The Hula Day offers beginners a good opportunity for first contact with this fascinating dance, but it is also suitable for advanced dancers to enjoy and deepen their knowledge.

Workshop Hula
February 26, 2022
10 am to 4 pm

Hula Kahiko Day - Traditional Dance

Costs:

CHF 100.-

Place:

Hale AlohaSpirit

Once a month is Hula Day.

We take six hours to devote ourselves entirely to a dance and song (Chant/Oli). The lessons are taught in the tradition of "Nā Wai Iwi Ola" (The Ancient Waters of Life) as taught by Kumu Keala Ching. The Hula Day offers beginners a good opportunity for first contacts with this fascinating dance; it is also suitable for advanced students to enjoy and deepen their knowledge.

Workshop Hula
March 12, 2022
10 am to 4 pm

Hula Auana Day - Modern Dance

Costs:

CHF 100.-

Place:

Hale AlohaSpirit

Once a month is Hula Day.

We take six hours to devote ourselves entirely to a dance and song (Chant/Oli). The lessons are in the tradition of "Nā Wai Iwi Ola" (The Ancient Waters of Life) as taught by Kumu Keala Ching. The Hula Day offers beginners a good opportunity for first contact with this fascinating dance, but it is also suitable for advanced dancers to enjoy and deepen their knowledge.

Workshop Hula
24. April 2022
10 am to 4 pm

Hula Kahiko Day - Traditional Dance

Costs:

CHF 100.- (Zoom)

Place:

Hale AlohaSpirit

Once a month is Hula Day.

We take six hours to devote ourselves entirely to a dance and song (Chant/Oli). The lessons are in the tradition of "Nā Wai Iwi Ola" (The Ancient Waters of Life) as taught by Kumu Keala Ching. The Hula Day offers beginners a good opportunity for first contact with this fascinating dance, but it is also suitable for advanced dancers to enjoy and deepen their knowledge.

Workshop Hula
June 25 and 26, 2022

Hawaiian Hula Weekend with Kumu Keala Ching

Costs:

CHF 450.-

Place:

Stadt Zürich, Kreis 8 Seefeld

We learn Hula knowledge to better understand traditional Hula Kahiko and contemporary Hula Auana expressed through hula protocol, stories, chants and language.

ZOOM-Teachings from Hawai'i to us!

Hula Introduction via Zoom. Opportunity to connect with Kumu Keala and Hula in preparation for the intense Hula Worskhop.

Introduction: Fridays 3rd/10th and 17th of June from 7 till 8 pm

Workshop:

Saturday 25th of June Zoom individual session from 6 till 8 am, practice as group from 1 till 5 pm, Zoom as group from 6 til 8 pm

Sunday 26th of June Zoom individual session from 6 till 8 am, practice as group from 1 till 5 pm, Zoom as group from 6 til 8 pm

Workshop Hula
August 20, 2022
10 am to 4 pm

Hula Auana Day - Modern Dance

Costs:

CHF 100.-

Place:

Hale AlohaSpirit

Once a month is Hula Day.

We take six hours to devote ourselves entirely to a dance and song (Chant/Oli). The lessons are in the tradition of "Nā Wai Iwi Ola" (The Ancient Waters of Life) as taught by Kumu Keala Ching. The Hula Day offers beginners a good opportunity for first contact with this fascinating dance, but it is also suitable for advanced dancers to enjoy and deepen their knowledge.

Workshop Hula
September 24 , 2022
10 am to 4 pm

Costs:

CHF 100.- (Zoom)

Place:

Hale AlohaSpirit

Once a month is Hula Day.

We take six hours to devote ourselves entirely to a dance and song (Chant/Oli). The lessons are in the tradition of "Nā Wai Iwi Ola" (The Ancient Waters of Life) as taught by Kumu Keala Ching. The Hula Day offers beginners a good opportunity for first contact with this fascinating dance, but it is also suitable for advanced dancers to enjoy and deepen their knowledge.

Workshop Hula
October 29 , 2022
10 am to 4 pm

Hula Auana Day - Modern Dance

Costs:

CHF 100.-

Place:

Hale AlohaSpirit

Once a month is Hula Day.

We take six hours to devote ourselves entirely to a dance and song (Chant/Oli). The lessons are in the tradition of "Nā Wai Iwi Ola" (The Ancient Waters of Life) as taught by Kumu Keala Ching. The Hula Day offers beginners a good opportunity for first contact with this fascinating dance, but it is also suitable for advanced dancers to enjoy and deepen their knowledge.

Workshop Hula
December 17 , 2022
10 am to 4 pm

Costs:

CHF 100.- (Zoom)

Place:

Hale AlohaSpirit

Hula – der Herzschlag des hawaiischen Volks

Hula, der traditionelle Tanz der Inseln, gehört zu den hawaiischen «Healing Arts», das heisst, Hula ist weit mehr als ein Tanz: Er ist eine Kunst mit heilender Wirkung.

Basis des Hula ist die Individualität in der Gemeinsamkeit. Während die Musik die Bewegungen der Tanzenden wie Tropfen zu einer Welle vereint, drückt jede Person ihr eigenstes, innerstes Empfinden aus.

Im 19. Jahrhundert war Hula lange Zeit verboten und konnte nur im Versteckten ausgeübt werden, nicht zuletzt aufgrund des Inhalts: Die Tänze zeigen die Beziehungen der Menschen, der Adligen, der hawaiischen Götter und Göttinnen untereinander sowie die Themen Natur und Liebe. Erst nach 1970 kam es zu einer – bis heute anhaltenden – Renaissance.

AlohaSpirit hat mit «Na Wai ‘Ohi’a» eine eigene Gruppe von ca. 15 Hula-Tänzerinnen und -Tänzern aufgebaut, die an nationalen und internationalen Anlässen auftritt. «Na Wai ‘Ohi’a» steht unter der Leitung von Kumu Keala Ching und Kumu Noëlle Delaquis. Videos unserer Aufführungen findest Du hier. Jedes Jahr im Juni zeigt die Gruppe an einer öffentlichen Aufführung, was sie übers Jahr gelernt hat (zur Bildergalerie).

AlohaSpirit bietet Dir die Gelegenheit, regelmässig Hula zu tanzen, Ukulele zu spielen und auch aufzutreten.

Wöchentliches Hula-Training im Hale AlohaSpirit.

jeden Dienstag:
von 17 bis 18 Uhr - Ukulele und singen
von 18 bis 19 Uhr - Hula foundation class
von 19 bis 21 Uhr - Hula main class und Chant. 

Der Unterricht erfolgt dabei in der Tradition von „Na Wai Iwi Ola“ (The Ancient Waters of Life), wie sie Kumu Keala Ching lehrt.

Details

1 -mal pro Monat ist Hula-Tag.

Jeweils an einem Samstag oder Sonntag pro Monat führen wir einen Hula-Tag durch. Wir nehmen uns sechs Stunden Zeit für einen bestimmten Tanz und Chant. Der Unterricht erfolgt dabei in der Tradition von "Nā Wai Iwi Ola" (The Ancient Waters of Life), wie sie Kumu Keala Ching lehrt.

Details

Hula Schule Na Wai 'Ohi'a – jährliche Aufführung

Details

Nächste Workshops und Termine

Workshop Hula
21. August 2021
10 bis 16 Uhr

Hula Kahiko Tag - Traditioneller Tanz

Kosten:

CHF 100.-

Ort:

Hale AlohaSpirit

Einmal monatlich ist Hula-Tag.

Wir nehmen uns sechs Stunden Zeit, um uns ganz einem Tanz und Gesang (Chant/Oli) zu widmen. Der Unterricht erfolgt dabei in der Tradition von "Nā Wai Iwi Ola" (The Ancient Waters of Life), wie sie Kumu Keala Ching lehrt. Der Hula-Tag bietet Anfängern und Anfängerinnen eine gute Gelegenheit für erste Kontakte mit dem faszinierenden Tanz; er eignet sich aber auch für Fortgeschrittene zum Geniessen und Vertiefen.

Workshop Hula
1. Oktober 2021
18.30 Uhr

Hula Schule Na Wai 'Ohi'a – jährliche Aufführung

Ort:

Meilen (genauer Ort wird noch bekannt gegeben)

Wir freuen uns sehr, Dich zu unserer jährlichen Hula-Aufführung (Hoi’ke) einzuladen. Wir zeigen, was wir in den vergangenen zwölf Monaten an traditionellen und modernen Tänzen gelernt haben.

Special Guest: unser Lehrer Kumu Keala Ching aus Hawai'i

Workshop Hula
9. und 10. Oktober 2021
9 bis ca. 16.30 Uhr

Hawaiian Hula-Weekend mit Kumu Keala Ching

Kosten:

CHF 450.-

Ort:

Stadt Zürich, Kreis 8 Seefeld

Wir erlernen Hula-Kahiko (traditioneller Tanz) und Hula Auana (moderner Tanz). Zusätzlich üben wir uns im Chanten und erfahren mehr über die Geschichte des Hula und die Kultur Hawai'is.

Workshop Hula
30. Oktober 2021
10 bis 16 Uhr

Hula Kahiko Tag - Traditioneller Tanz

Kosten:

CHF 100.-

Ort:

Hale AlohaSpirit

Einmal monatlich ist Hula-Tag.

Wir nehmen uns sechs Stunden Zeit, um uns ganz einem Tanz und Gesang (Chant/Oli) zu widmen. Der Unterricht erfolgt dabei in der Tradition von "Nā Wai Iwi Ola" (The Ancient Waters of Life), wie sie Kumu Keala Ching lehrt. Der Hula-Tag bietet Anfängern und Anfängerinnen eine gute Gelegenheit für erste Kontakte mit dem faszinierenden Tanz; er eignet sich aber auch für Fortgeschrittene zum Geniessen und Vertiefen.

Workshop Hula
18. Dezember 2021
10 bis 16 Uhr

Hula Auana Tag – Moderner Tanz

Kosten:

CHF 100.-

Ort:

Hale AlohaSpirit

Einmal monatlich ist Hula-Tag.

Wir nehmen uns sechs Stunden Zeit, um uns ganz einem Tanz und Gesang (Chant/Oli) zu widmen. Der Unterricht erfolgt dabei in der Tradition von "Nā Wai Iwi Ola" (The Ancient Waters of Life), wie sie Kumu Keala Ching lehrt. Der Hula-Tag bietet Anfängern und Anfängerinnen eine gute Gelegenheit für erste Kontakte mit dem faszinierenden Tanz; er eignet sich aber auch für Fortgeschrittene zum Geniessen und Vertiefen.

Workshop Hula
22. Januar 2022
10 bis 16 Uhr

Hula Auana Tag – Moderner Tanz

Kosten:

CHF 100.-

Ort:

Hale AlohaSpirit

Einmal monatlich ist Hula-Tag.

Wir nehmen uns sechs Stunden Zeit, um uns ganz einem Tanz und Gesang (Chant/Oli) zu widmen. Der Unterricht erfolgt dabei in der Tradition von "Nā Wai Iwi Ola" (The Ancient Waters of Life), wie sie Kumu Keala Ching lehrt. Der Hula-Tag bietet Anfängern und Anfängerinnen eine gute Gelegenheit für erste Kontakte mit dem faszinierenden Tanz; er eignet sich aber auch für Fortgeschrittene zum Geniessen und Vertiefen.

Workshop Hula
26. Februar 2022
10 bis 16 Uhr

Hula Kahiko Tag - Traditioneller Tanz

Kosten:

CHF 100.-

Ort:

Hale AlohaSpirit

Einmal monatlich ist Hula-Tag.

Wir nehmen uns sechs Stunden Zeit, um uns ganz einem Tanz und Gesang (Chant/Oli) zu widmen. Der Unterricht erfolgt dabei in der Tradition von "Nā Wai Iwi Ola" (The Ancient Waters of Life), wie sie Kumu Keala Ching lehrt. Der Hula-Tag bietet Anfängern und Anfängerinnen eine gute Gelegenheit für erste Kontakte mit dem faszinierenden Tanz; er eignet sich aber auch für Fortgeschrittene zum Geniessen und Vertiefen.

Workshop Hula
12. März 2022
10 bis 16 Uhr

Hula Auana Tag – Moderner Tanz

Kosten:

CHF 100.-

Ort:

Hale AlohaSpirit

Einmal monatlich ist Hula-Tag.

Wir nehmen uns sechs Stunden Zeit, um uns ganz einem Tanz und Gesang (Chant/Oli) zu widmen. Der Unterricht erfolgt dabei in der Tradition von "Nā Wai Iwi Ola" (The Ancient Waters of Life), wie sie Kumu Keala Ching lehrt. Der Hula-Tag bietet Anfängern und Anfängerinnen eine gute Gelegenheit für erste Kontakte mit dem faszinierenden Tanz; er eignet sich aber auch für Fortgeschrittene zum Geniessen und Vertiefen.

Workshop Hula
24. April 2022
10 bis 16 Uhr

Hula Kahiko Tag - Traditioneller Tanz

Kosten:

CHF 100.- (Zoom)

Ort:

Hale AlohaSpirit

Einmal monatlich ist Hula-Tag.

Wir nehmen uns sechs Stunden Zeit, um uns ganz einem Tanz und Gesang (Chant/Oli) zu widmen. Der Unterricht erfolgt dabei in der Tradition von "Nā Wai Iwi Ola" (The Ancient Waters of Life), wie sie Kumu Keala Ching lehrt. Der Hula-Tag bietet Anfängern und Anfängerinnen eine gute Gelegenheit für erste Kontakte mit dem faszinierenden Tanz; er eignet sich aber auch für Fortgeschrittene zum Geniessen und Vertiefen.

Workshop Hula
25. und 26. Juni 2022
9 bis ca. 16.30 Uhr

Hawaiian Hula-Weekend mit Kumu Keala Ching

Kosten:

CHF 450.-

Ort:

Stadt Zürich, Kreis 8 Seefeld

Wir erlernen Hula-Kahiko (traditioneller Tanz) und Hula Auana (moderner Tanz). Zusätzlich üben wir uns im Chanten und erfahren mehr über die Geschichte des Hula und die Kultur Hawai'is.